How Many Regions Are In Mauritius

Regions are the parts of a country that are not the capital city and its surrounding area.

How Many Regions Are In Mauritius


1. Agalega Islands

2. Black River

3. Flacq

4. Grand Port

5. Moka

6. Pamplemousses

7. Plaines Wilhems

8. Port Louis

9. Riviere du Rempart

10. Rodrigues Islands

11. Savanne

Read Also: How Many Religions Are There In Mauritius

How many provinces are there in Mauritius?

Mauritius Island is divided into nine districts which consist of one city, four towns, and 130 villages. Its capital is Port Louis. The Plaines Wilhems District consists mainly of four towns: Beau Bassin-Rose Hill, Curepipe, Quatre Bornes, and Vacoas-Phoenix.

Which region is Mauritius?

Mauritius is a subtropical island country in the Indian Ocean, just over 1,130 kilometres east of Madagascar, off the southeastern coast of Africa. Its outlying territories include Rodrigues Island and other smaller islands.

What language do they speak in Mauritius?

Mauritian Creole is a French-based Creole and is estimated to be spoken by around 90% of the population. French is the language that tends to be used in education and media, while English is the official language in Parliament, however, members can still speak French.

What is the capital of Mauritius?

Port Louis, the capital city of Mauritius, is a vibrant town. Located in the northwest of the country, Port-Louis will touch you for sure. Founded by French Governor Bertrand-François Mahé de Labourdonnais in 1735, the city is the economic hub of the island and is very lively during the day, teeming with life.

What is the real name of Mauritius?

Destination Mauritius, officially the Republic of Mauritius, is a Nations Online country profile of the small remote archipelago in the Indian Ocean in eastern Southern Africa. The island nation is situated about 900 km (560 mi) east of Madagascar and 180 km (110 mi) northeast of French Réunion.