How Many Special Economic Zone Are In Rwanda

What is Special Economic Zone?

A special economic zone is an area in which the business and trade laws are different from the rest of the country.

SEZs are located within a country’s national borders, and their aims include increasing trade balance, employment, increased investment, job creation, and effective administration.

How Many Special Economic Zone Are In Rwanda?

KIGALI SPECIAL ECONOMIC ZONE Page 2 Page 3 Kigali Special Economic Zones Rwanda 3 Special Economic Zones (SEZs) in Rwanda are designed to address domestic private sector constraints such as;

availability of industrial and commercial land, availability and the cost of energy, limited transport linkages, market access.

How many sectors do we have in Rwanda?

416 Sectors

The country is divided into four Provinces and the City of Kigali which are also further divided into 30 districts.

Moreover, the districts are further divided into 416 Sectors. Additionally, the sectors are further divided into 2148 cells and lastly, these cells are divided into 14837 villages.

What is the special economic zone in Rwanda?

Special Economic Zones in Rwanda are established through a Prime Minister’s order that converts the subject area into a legally-designated Zone.

Any applicant, whether from the private or public sector, wishing to develop, operate, maintain, or promote a Special Economic Zone should submit an application to SEZAR.

Who uses special economic zones?

About 75 percent of developing economies and almost all transition economies use SEZs in their early stages of industrialization.