Jacksonville State University

Jacksonville State University (JSU) is a public university in Jacksonville, Alabama. Founded in 1883, Jacksonville State offers programs of study in six academic schools leading to bachelor’s, master’s, education specialist, and doctorate degrees in addition to certificate programs and continuing education opportunities. In the Fall semester of 2011, JSU began offering the school’s first doctoral degree, Doctor of Science in Emergency Management. In 2016, the university gained approval to offer its second doctorate, a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree.

The university was founded as Jacksonville State Normal School, and in 1930, the name changed to Jacksonville State Teachers College, and again in 1957, to Jacksonville State College. The university began operating as Jacksonville State University in 1966.

JSU currently has an enrollment of more than 9,000 students, with nearly 500 faculty members (more than 320 of whom are full-time). Jacksonville State’s Business School was ranked within the nation’s 90th percentile by the Princeton Review. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS). In addition, 40 academic programs (79% of programs that can be accredited) earned specialized programmatic accreditations. These programs include business, education, applied engineering, nursing, social work, drama, art, music, computer science, family and consumer science, and communication.

Administration and organization

Jacksonville State is administered by President Don Killingsworth and the Jacksonville State Board of Trustees. Members of the board are appointed by the Governor of Alabama to set the policies of the university and select senior management personnel. Under the doctrine of collective responsibility, the entire board is liable for the financial and other consequences of the organization’s activities. The President oversees his or her Presidential Cabinet, composed of the university’s vice presidents and other senior personnel. The university’s organization chart is availableĀ online.

Academic organization

Wallace Hall, home to the JSU nursing program.

Through Jacksonville State’s six academic schools, Jacksonville State offers career-centered programs to prepare for certain workforces. Offices such as Academic Affairs, Graduate Studies, International House and Programs, Online Education, Tutoring, Off-Campus Programs and Sites, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management, Academic Center for Excellence, the University Library, and others help students through the courses of the six academic colleges.

School of Arts and Humanities

School of Business and Industry

School of Education

School of Nursing and Health Professions

School of Human Services and Social Sciences

School of Science

Jacksonville State University Undergraduate Tuition & Fees

Jacksonville State University GraduateĀ Tuition & Fees

Jacksonville State University Graduate Programs Offered

Jacksonville State University Admission Requirements