CXC Exams Online Registration

The Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE) is for tertiary level education or junior college studies. The examination is taken by students who have completed their secondary studies and want to go for higher education in the Caribbean. CAPE has academic, technical and vocational courses of study in a single system of certification.

The CAPE examinations assess the skills and knowledge gained by pupils in subjects that are organized in 1-Unit or 2-Unit courses with each Unit comprising of 3 modules.

CAPE Certifications and Diploma

The CXC offers 3 types of certification:

  1. A CAPE certificate is awarded to the students after successful completion of 1 year of study in the CAPE programme. Also, students must achieve a minimum of 10 credits that is equal to 1 unit.
  2. A CAPE diploma is awarded to students after successful completion of a minimum of 6 units, including Caribbean studies, and after achieving a minimum of 60 credits.
  3. A CAPE associate degree is awarded to students who have satisfactorily completed a preset group of 7 CAPE Units including Caribbean Studies and communication studies.

CAPE Level Subjects

CXC offers CAPE examinations in 22 two-unit subjects and 2 one-unit subjects. Two one-Unit Subjects are:

  • Caribbean studies and Communication studies
  • Mathematics: Covers Pure mathematics and applied mathematics. It is the only subject with 2 dissimilar syllabuses, each with 2 units. The following are the two-unit combinations for Mathematics:
    • Pure Mathematics Units 1 & 2
    • Applied Mathematics Units 1 & 2
    • Pure Mathematics Unit 1 and Applied Mathematics Unit 2

CXC Examinations

The CXC offers exams and certifications at the secondary and tertiary levels. These are:

Caribbean Secondary Examinations (CSEC)The CSEC is taken at the end of secondary education level. This exam is for high school level. The CSEC examinations are equivalent to the Ordinary Level (O-Levels) examinations and are for pupils aged 16 and above.

Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Exams (CAPE)The CAPE is for the tertiary or junior-college level. It is for the post-secondary candidates who are going to enter the job market and for those students who desire to go for further studies at the tertiary education level. Students who have completed their secondary level studies, and have CSEC or an equivalent certification are eligible for this examination. The CAPE is equivalent to the British Advanced Levels (A-levels).  
The examination may vary by region. The CSECs are usually looked as an employment qualification verifying the holder as a secondary school graduate; and the CAPE is regarded as an appropriate qualification for admission into tertiary education.

CXC Results

To know about the results of the candidates, visit the official website of CXC. The results and performance is in the school reports that are uploaded every year on the CXC website and the results are also available in the CXC local registrar.

CXC Assessment

The performance of candidates is evaluated in a terminal exam as well as internal assessment (IA) that is known as School Based Assessment (SBA).

The internal assessment refers to the skills, knowledge and attitude gained through activities performed during the school studies. The internal assessment of the pupils is considered in the final grade awarded.

CXC Examinations Registration

To register for CXC exams, visit the CXC website